Showing Collections: 1 - 4 of 4
Appomattox Manor Music Collection
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2007.57
Scope and Contents
The collection contains bound volumes and sheet music of the 19th century and early to mid 20th century. Appomattox Manor, near Hopewell, Virginia, has belonged to the Eppes family since 1635, when Captain Francis Eppes was granted a patent to the land. The Manor served as the headquarters of General Ulysses S. Grant during the Civil War. The home was restored and is open to the public. The collection contains both popular and classical music. Boxes 1 - 18 are bound volumes and sheet music. ...
Dates:
1800-1940; Majority of material found in 1850-1910
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Floyd-Johnston-Preston Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2002.37
Scope and Contents
Letters and papers of the Floyd, Johnston, and Preston families, as well as newspaper articles principally concerning Gen. Joseph E. Johnston and Judge Robert William Hughes. The central figures in the collection include Gen. John Preston, his brother Gen. Francis Preston, Gen Joseph E. Johnston (1807-1891), his niece, Eliza Hughes (1825-1908), and Harriet Lane, niece of President Buchanan. The collection also contains the correspondence of or papers relating to Congressman Charles C....
Dates:
1753-1940
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Maury Family papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 97 M44
Scope and Contents
The Maury family papers contains materials documenting the lives of the Maury Family of Virginia, New York City and Liverpool, England from 1777-1977. The collection includes the letters and business papers of James Maury (1746-1840), the first American consul to Liverpool, England, and the letters of his second wife, Margaret Rutson Maury (1805-1882), of Liverpool. Letters, business papers, legal papers, and diaries of the next two generations of the Maury family, including Ann Maury...
Dates:
1777-1977
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Nathaniel Beverley Tucker Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2003.09
Scope and Contents
Comprised mostly of letters to, from, and about Nathaniel Beverley Tucker (1820-1890), a Virginian journalist and diplomat, his son Beverley Dandridge Tucker (1846-1930), a bishop, and their friends and family dating between 1830 and 1903. Family correspondents include Charles Ellis, Thomas H. Ellis, and Powhatan Ellis (brothers of Jane Shelton (Ellis) Tucker); Virginia Sarah Tucker Brooke, sister of Nathaniel Beverley Tucker ; Jane Shelton (Ellis) Tucker, wife Nathaniel Beverley Tucker;...
Dates:
1830-1903; Majority of material found in 1850-1890
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center